I just got off the phone with Bolo and had the great priviledge to see Delta last night. One of the things we all discussed was "THE GAME WE ALL WANT". I usually post once a year asking some bright individual to make this happen. Now, I rant and hope yet again that it truly might be possible. Here's the game:
1) Two goals - constantly rotating after each score around the perimeter of the map . Think CTF in reverse. You must score.
2) The flag always spawns in the middle of the map.
3) Tanks always spawn in the middle of the map. If X1, Y1 is taken , the tank spawns in X2, Y1.
Can this be done?
DAZZLE'S UPGRADE PACK
If you haven't already done so, upgrade your game by downloading Dazzle's all-in-one upgrade pack. It comes with everything you need for today's servers. Does your blue bar freeze when joining servers? Do you lag in games? Do you get an annoying siren in Phobik's Servers? This is what you need. CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD.
If you haven't already done so, upgrade your game by downloading Dazzle's all-in-one upgrade pack. It comes with everything you need for today's servers. Does your blue bar freeze when joining servers? Do you lag in games? Do you get an annoying siren in Phobik's Servers? This is what you need. CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD.
THE GAME WE ALL WANT
Moderators: Warfare, Moderator, Admin
-
- Veteran Light
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:53 pm
- Location: Toronto, CANADA
-
- Veteran Light
- Posts: 1187
- Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:18 pm
- Location: Wisconsin
At one point in time I did have the two goal situation (actually it was 56k help that made it possible). Problem with two goals is that the radar only sees one goal. 56k did come up with a workaround, with rotating the goals on the radar. Basically it would show the goals by jumping back and forth. Was a touch annoying. You can get 2 goals on radar by having two scrums. Currently, the scrumballs use the same spawn location of the players. There is probably a way to get the goals to spawn without using the spawnSphere, like in CTF? Not sure how though. One thing I had always thought about doing was somewhat similiar but having two goals and two scrumballs. Green team scores by by taking the green scumball into the green goal. Of course this would only be good for team games. Should be possible but would probably require a new game type or the source.
Anyone still have that information for the two goals. I think I do somewhere, but not sure.
Anyone still have that information for the two goals. I think I do somewhere, but not sure.
-
- Veteran Light
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:53 pm
- Location: Toronto, CANADA
Thanks for the reply, NUTS! Yeah, I know you had that going on at one time. It's just too bad it never reached fruition. To me, it seems like simple coding - but, I'm not a game developer, so I really have no idea. Two goals & spawning in the middle would pretty much perfect this game for me. I just wish it could be done.
WHO GOTS THEM CODES???
WHO GOTS THEM CODES???
- Warfare
- Moderator
- Posts: 741
- Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:21 pm
- Location: Austin, Texas
it wouldn't be all that hard...
rewrite the player spawns function so we can keep the ball, goals, and player spawns seperate
spawn the ball in the position of a certain spawnsphere made just for it (so we can move the "center" of different maps, not all maps are the same, so we shant use a static center)... not hard
make a new goal powerupy type object that registers just like when you go through the real goal
the only real problem is the radar... but that can be fixed you think? :P
I'll work on it.... in a few minutes we shall see if it works or not
rewrite the player spawns function so we can keep the ball, goals, and player spawns seperate
spawn the ball in the position of a certain spawnsphere made just for it (so we can move the "center" of different maps, not all maps are the same, so we shant use a static center)... not hard
make a new goal powerupy type object that registers just like when you go through the real goal
the only real problem is the radar... but that can be fixed you think? :P
I'll work on it.... in a few minutes we shall see if it works or not
-
- Veteran Light
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:53 pm
- Location: Toronto, CANADA
-
- Veteran Light
- Posts: 1187
- Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:18 pm
- Location: Wisconsin
Ok found some of the code:
Code: Select all
package DualGoal {
function FlagData::onAdd(%this,%obj)
{
if (!isObject(Scrum))
{
%obj.setName(Scrum);
}
}
function toggleGoalRadar()
{
Scrum.setGoal(Scrum.nextGoal);
Scrum.nextGoal = (Scrum.nextGoal $= "Goal") ? "Goal2" : "Goal";
if (isObject(Scrum)) schedule(400, 0, "toggleGoalRadar" );
}
function pickGoal()
{
if (!isObject(Goal2))
{
new PowerUp(Goal2)
{
datablock = DefaultGoal;
};
}
MissionCleanup.add(Goal2);
Goal2.setTransform(pickSpawnPoint(""));
Scrum.nextGoal = "Goal";
schedule(400, 0, "toggleGoalRadar" );
Parent::pickGoal();
}
};
ActivatePackage(DualGoal);
function FlagData::onAdd(%this,%obj)
{
echo("HEY NUTS!! FLAG DATA IS GETTING CALLED!!! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX");
if (!isObject(Scrum))
{
%obj.setName(Scrum);
echo("OKAY, IT'S GETTING A NAME! LOOK IT SHOULD BE CALLED SCRUM NOW!!! XXXXXXXX");
}
}
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: ClaudeBot [Bot] and 0 guests